The Chain of Transmission within a Sufi order is of central importance in the Sufi work. It is a major conduit of the baraka of any genuine Sufi school, and links the mureeds of that order with the combined spiritual power of their spiritual antecedents and with the unseen transformative forces that transpire behind the outward manifestation of the Chain, which is called the Silsila ("chain" or "pedigree"). A "lineage-holder" within a Sufi order will have the Silsila of the lineage committed to memory, and it is recited at pivotal occasions such as the group zikr of the order and especially at initiations. Working backward, experientially contacting and effacing oneself in each being in the Chain is considered a necessary development of the practice known as "Tasawwuri Murshid."

The representation of the Chain of Transmission is called the "Shajara" ("Tree"). The shajara which appears here is that of Hazrat Pir-o-Murshid 'Inayat Khan's primary spiritual lineage, though he was initiated into the four major Sufi lineages represented in India. It is worth noting that at each juncture, there may be several shaykhs deputized to carry on a lineage. A shajara is a tracing of initiatic ancestry rather than a representation of the full flow of barakat from the Source.

The Shajara below was compiled by Pirzade Zia 'Inayat Khan from scholarly researches in the West and India. The titles and honorifics ascribed to the beings in our Chain vary somewhat from one source to the next, but the names listed here are fundamentally correct. Note that the shajara listing in "Toward the One" is incorrect and should not be relied upon.


Shajara Sharíf Ináyati

Hazrat Jibra’il
Hazrat Khwaja Muhammad Rasul Allah
Hazrat Khwaja ‘Ali Wali Allah
Hazrat Khwaja Hasan Basri
Hazrat Khwaja ‘Abd al-Wahid bin Zayd
Hazrat Khwaja Fuzayl bin 'Iyaz
Hazrat Khwaja Ibrahim Adham
Hazrat Khwaja Huzayfa Mar’ishi
Hazrat Khwaja Hubayra Basri
Hazrat Khwaja Mumshad 'Ulu Dinwari
Hazrat Khwaja Abu Ishaq Shami
Hazrat Khwaja Abu Ahmad Abdal Chishti
Hazrat Khwaja Abu Muhammad Chishti
Hazrat Khwaja Abu Yusuf Chishti
Hazrat Khwaja Qutbuddin Mawdud Chishti
Hazrat Khwaja Hajji Sharif Zindani
Hazrat Khwaja ‘Usman Harvani
Hazrat Khwaja Mu’inuddin Hasan Sanjari-Ajmiri
Hazrat Khwaja Qutbuddin Mas’ud Bakhtiyar Kaki
Hazrat Khwaja Fariduddin Ganj-iShakar Ajhodani
Hazrat Khwaja Nizamuddin Mahbub-i Ilahi Badauni
Hazrat Khwaja Nasiruddin Chiragh Dihlavi
Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha'ikh Kamaluddin ‘Allama
Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha'ikh Sirajuddin
Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha'ikh 'Ilmuddin
Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha'ikh Mahmud Rajan
Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha'ikh Jamaluddin Jamman
Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha'ikh Hasan Muhammad
Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha'ikh Muhammad A’zam
Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha'ikh Yahya Madani
Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha'ikh Shah Kalim Allah Jahanabadi
Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha'ikh Nizamuddin Awrangabadi
Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha'ikh Maulana Fakhruddin
Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha'ikh Ghulam Qutbuddin
Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha'ikh Nasiruddin Mahmud Kali Shah
Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha'ikh Muhammad Hasan Jili Kalimi
Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha'ikh Abu Hashim Madani
Hazrat Pir-o-Murshid 'Inayat Khan
Hazrat Pir Vilayat Khan
Pir Zia Inayat Khan




This page was last updated on Monday, March 27, 2017



Home Page

Website developed and maintained by Khusrau (khusrau at

 Top of Page